If At First You Don’t Succeed…

Sometimes things don’t work out as planned. Hey, #$%^ happens, right? Think about it – you put forth an award winning effort, but the end result falls short of the mark. What are you to do – cry?
The funny thing with us high strung salespeople is that we can close 5 sales in a row, and then along comes failure, and that’s all we remember. That’s the irony of the human experience. Success gets fair recognition, but when a mistake comes along, we tend to think we’re doomed.
It’s hard to look at failure as a benefit, but it really is. This past week it happened to me. I ‘failed’ to hit the mark with a training class I conducted for a client. While I was delivering the program I thought I was hitting all the ‘high notes’, and delivering an outstanding presentation. Then came the text message from my client to let me know that although good, there was much need for improvement. I felt sick for a moment. How could it be? I thought I was great!
Fortunately for me, my client had patience, and we talked through it. I was relieved to discover that the ‘mistakes’ I made were not that serious, and were easily solved. For starters, when presented with my client’s critique, the best thing I did was to remain calm, and not take it personally. His critique about the program actually helped me to understand what I needed to do in order to make improvements, and I took the critique as a lesson instead of condemnation.
The happy ending for me was that I took constructive advice from my client, and applied his suggestions to my next training program the following day. The good news – I nailed it!
The difference between a winner and a loser is that a winner learns from his, or her mistakes. So, if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Chances are very good that if you’re willing to learn from your mistakes that you’ll get it right the next time around.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “If At First You Don’t Succeed…”

  1. Brian Levandusky Says:

    I always think about what went wrong with sales that dont close. Thats what makes me a better salesperson when pitching the next new prospect in the pipeline

Leave a Reply

